ANC Congratulates New BRICS Business Council Appointments

J Fubbs

The African National Congress extends its best wishes to the five appointed members of the BRICS Business Council. The council establishes a platform for the country to promote and strengthen business, trade and investment links between the business communities of the five BRICS countries. The robust dialogue that prevails enables members to unlock bottlenecks, address challenges and so strengthen economic, trade and investment between member countries.

Minister of Trade and Industry Dr Rob Davies said: "It is imperative that the SA BRICS Business Council is located within the ambit of organized business in South Africa and is appropriately representative and accessible to all business". This imperative is clearly reflected in the new BRICS Business Council members, the chairperson Ms Busi Mabuza (IDC), Dr Ayanda Ntsaluba (Discovery Ltd), Ms Bridgette Radebe (Mmakau Mining), Dr Stavros Nicolaou (Aspen Pharmacare) and Mr Elias Monage (Afika Group).

Their overarching collective and extensive business experience locally and internationally will strengthen Business to Business (B2B) interactions between member states and in so doing boost increased trade, investment and business engagement. He emphasized the strategic relevance and importance of alignment between Government and Business in relation to the commercial opportunities offered by the BRICS relationship. This dynamic new council can be a catalyst to bring about an inclusive economy.