Media statement by the Deputy Secretary General of the ANC, Thandi Modise, on the appointment of Chairpersons of Parliamentary Portfolio Committees

18 November 2010

When we began this current term of parliament, we committed ourselves to an activist ANC Caucus and activist Parliament that is well-positioned to fully undertake its constitutional role, which include conducting robust oversight over the Executive.

We stressed that this activist parliament will require men and women of outstanding pedigree who will selflessly submit themselves to the service of the nation. The activist nature of this institution, which we undertook to deepen, necessitates therefore that we continuously assess and review our operations system to ensure that we continue to be relevant to the task of meeting the tasks South Africans have placed upon our shoulders.

The realignment of the leadership of our committees is therefore consistent with our ongoing endeavour to strengthen the role of the movement in Parliament.

We therefore wish to announce the names of comrades we have deployed to the posts of portfolio committee chairpersons. These comrades will be recommended to parliament for elections in the respective meetings of committees. We congratulate these comrades and wish them well in their new responsibilities. We also wish to thank our comrades who formerly held these positions.

New deployments:

  1. Defence and Military Veterans
    Malusi Stanley Motimele (M)
  2. Higher Education
    Ishmael Malale (M)
  3. Home Affairs
    Maggy Maunye (F)
  4. Basic Education
    Hope Malgas (F)
  5. Labour
    Mamagase Elleck Nchabeleng (M)
  6. Public Enterprise
    Peter Maluleke (M)
  7. Public Works
    Catherine Mabuza (F)
  8. Water and Environment
    Johnny De Lange (M)
  9. International Relations and Cooperation
    Tisetso Magama (M)
  10. Communications
    Eric Kholwane (M)
  11. Arts and Culture
    Thandile Babalwa Sunduza (F)
  12. Justice
    Luwellyn Tyrone Landers (M)
  13. Energy
    Sisa Njikelana (M)
  14. Joint Standing Committee on Defence
    Jerome Joseph Maake (M)
  15. Women, Children and People with Disabilities
    Dorothy Ramodibe (F)
  16. Chair of ANC Parliamentary Caucus:
    Jerry Dimotana Thibedi (M)
  17. House Chairpersons:
    Cedric Thomas Frolick
    Fatima Hajaig

Issued by the ANC, Parliament, Cape Town

Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930