Appointment of Committee Chairpersons

21 May 2009

The ANC Parliamentary Caucus wishes to announce the names of its appointees to the leadership positions of various parliamentary portfolio committees within the two Houses of Parliament, the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces.

The decision pertaining to these deployments is a culmination of a rigorous and a careful process with a view to putting together a capable and competent leadership that will bolster the constitutional role of Parliament. The decision on these appointments also took into consideration the challenging tasks ahead as the country enters the new period of intensified service delivery to the people – consistent with the commitments we made in the 2009 Elections Manifesto.

Parliamentary committees’ primary function is to scrutinise and oversee the activities of government to ensure that the implementation of programmes and policies are consistent with the critical mandate of improving the quality of life of millions of our people.

It is in this regard that we are expressly confident that the men and women we are announcing today for the positions of Chairpersons will steer this august institution on the correct path to fully achieve this gigantic task.

The list of appointees for the positions of Chairpersons will be submitted to Parliament as part of a process for their election to these posts when portfolio committees in both Houses hold their first meetings.

Consistent with the organisation’s commitment to the objective of clean and accountable governance, we have sought to uphold the long standing principle of appointing to the position of the Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts (Scopa) an MP from the opposition. This is aimed at removing any possibility for biasness, either perceived or real, by the committee chairperson when presiding over matters involving the executive.

Several of these chairperson designates shall preside over the new committees, established in terms of the Assembly Rule 99, to mirror the new government ministries announced recently by the President of the Republic, Comrade Jacob Zuma.

We wish to take this opportunity to congratulate these comrades and wish them well in their respective responsibilities.

The new chairpersons of parliamentary committees are as follows:

National Assembly:

House Chairpersons:
Obed Bapela
Mildred Oliphant
Ben Skhosana (IFP)

Chairperson of Caucus:
Alina Rantsolase

National Assembly Whips:
Cedrick Frolick
Richard Mdakana
Duma Ndleleni

Committee Chairpersons:

  1. Portfolio Committee on Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries: Mlungisi Lulu Johnson
  2. Portfolio Committee on Communications: Ismail Vadi
  3. Portfolio Committee on Trade & Industry: Joan Fubbs
  4. Portfolio Committee on Economic Development: Busi Coleman
  5. Portfolio Committee on Transport: Ruth Bhengu
  6. Portfolio Committee on Science & Technology: Nqaba Ngcobo
  7. Portfolio Committee on Water and Environmental Affairs: Maggie Sotyu
  8. Portfolio Committee on Tourism: Don Gumede
  9. Portfolio Committee on Finance: Thaba Mufamadi
  10. Portfolio Committee on Mining: Fred Gona
  11. Portfolio Committee on Energy: Elizabeth Thabethe
  12. Portfolio Committee on Labour: Lumka Yengeni
  13. Portfolio Committee on Public Works: Lindiwe Hendricks
  14. Portfolio Committee on Public Enterprises: Vytjie Mentor
  15. Portfolio Committee on Rural Development & Land Reform: Stone Sizani
  16. Joint Budget Committee on Appropriation: Elliot Sogoni, Kgauta Mokgoto (Joint Chairpersons)
  17. Portfolio Committee on Correctional Services: Vincent Smith
  18. Portfolio Committee on Defence & Military Veterans: Mnyamezeli Booi
  19. Joint Standing Committee on Defence: Hlengiwe Mgabadeli
  20. Portfolio Committee on Justice & Constitutional Development: Ngoako Ramatlhodi
  21. Portfolio Committee on Constitutional Review: Patekile Holomisa
  22. Joint Standing Committee on State Security: Cecil Burgess
  23. Portfolio Committee on Police: Lydia Chikunga
  24. Portfolio Committee on International Relations & Corporation: Thulas Nxesi
  25. Portfolio Committee on Home Affairs: Ben Martins
  26. Portfolio Committee on Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Lechesa Tsenoli
  27. Portfolio Committee on Public Service & Administration: Joyce Moloi-Moropa
  28. Joint Standing Committee on Auditor-General: Michael Masutha
  29. Standing Committee on Public Accounts: Themba Godi (from the APC)
  30. Portfolio Committee on Basic Education: Fatima Chohan
  31. Portfolio Committee on Higher Education: Marius Fransman
  32. Portfolio Committee on Health: Bevan Goqwana
  33. Portfolio Committee on Human Settlements: Beauty Dambuza
  34. Portfolio Committee on Social Development: Yolanda Botha
  35. Portfolio Committee on Sports & Recreation: Butana Komphela
  36. Portfolio Committee on Arts & Culture: Simon Farisani
  37. Women’s Caucus: Beauty Dlulani
  38. Portfolio Committee on Women, Youth, Children and People with Disability: Barbara Thomson
  39. Portfolio Committee on private members' legislative proposals and special petitions: Setlamorago Thobejane

National Council of Provinces

Deputy Chairperson of the NCOP:
Thandi Memela

House Chairpersons:
Papi Tau
Nosilivere Magadla

  1. Select Committee on Education and Recreation: Makgale Mamosoeu Wendy
  2. Select Committee on Economic Development: Freddie Adams
  3. Select Committee on Finance: Charel Jacobus De Beer
  4. Select Committee on Governance and Administration: Matome Humphrey Mokgobi
  5. Select Committee on Land and Environmental Affairs: Daphne Qikani
  6. Select Committee on Public Services: Mtikeni Patrick Sibande
  7. Select Committee on Labour and Public Enterprises: Malesane Priscilla Themba
  8. Select Committee on Security and Constitutional Development: Harry Mofokeng
  9. Select Committee on Social Services: Rachel Nomonde Rasmeni
  10. Select Committee on Trade and International Relations: Dimusani Dennis Gamede

Issued by

The ANC Parliamentary Caucus
Parliament of the Republic of SA

Moloto Mothapo – 082 370 6930