Interim Board of the SABC

19 March 2013

The Office of the ANC Chief Whip welcomes the decision by the National Assembly to recommend the dissolution of the SABC board and the appointment of members of the interim board to the President today.

The recommendations follow the resignation of the majority of the board members, which negatively impacted on the board`s functionality. Parliament`s swift intervention to provide guidance and leadership amid this undesirable situation is commendable.

Nature abhors a vacuum, and therefore this decision is necessary in ensuring that this national asset, the public broadcaster, is not allowed to operate without leadership. The interim board will take over the reins until the new board is appointed by Parliament.

We are confident that the interim board will continue with the good work done by its predecessor to turn around the public broadcaster. There can be no disputing the fact that, challenges notwithstanding, the current SABC is much better than it was few years ago.

We wish the interim board well and we thank the previous board for the service rendered.

The names of the interim board recommended by the National Assembly for appointment by the President are:

1. Ellen Shabalala - Chairperson
2. Noluthando Gosa – Deputy Chairperson
3. Ronnie Lubisi
4. Iraj Abedian
5. Vusimuzi Mavuzo


Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930