New Ad Hoc Committee elects ANC MP Vincent Smith as Chairperson

21 June 2017

The Ad Hoc Committee on the Funding of Political Parties met today for the first time since the establishment of the committee by a resolution of the National Assembly (NA) on 6 June 2017, in terms of NA Rule 253 (1)(a).

Comrade Vincent Smith was elected Chairperson of the Committee and the ANC has appointed the following members to serve in the committee:

1. Hon V.G. Smith (Chairperson)
2. Hon N.N. Mafu
3. Hon D.E. Dlakude
4. Hon L.M. Maseko
5. Hon D. Gumede
6. Hon B.T. Bongo
7. Hon. C.N. Ncube-Ndaba (Alternate)

The committee is mandated to enquire into and make recommendations on funding of political parties represented in national and provincial legislatures in South Africa with a view to introducing amending legislation, if necessary and in so doing consider a model of public and private funding for political parties; and the need for, and possible means of, regulating private funding in all its forms as well as investment entities owned by political parties.

The Committee will report back to the NA no later than 30 November 2017. The Office of the ANC Chief Whip wishes the ad hoc committee well in its task.


Nonceba Mhlauli
Media Liaison Officer
072 623 3462