Parliament endorses candidates for the Commission for Gender Equality

06 June 2017

The ANC in Parliament welcomes the National Assembly's endorsement of six candidates for appointment as commissioners to the Commission for Gender Equality (CGE). The following candidates were endorsed by an overwhelming 284 members of Parliament today:

1. Ms Tamara Eugenia Mathebula
2. Ms Nthabiseng Moleko
3. Mr Sediko Daniel Rakolote
4. Ms Nthabiseng Sepanya Mogale
5. Ms Sethembiso Promise Mthembu
6. Dr Praveena Sukhraj-Ely

We thank the above candidates to have availed themselves for this important task of working towards a more gender equal society. With the recent surge in the killing of women and children in South Africa, the CGE faces the mammoth task of demystifying gender oppression and leading the struggle against patriarchy and to promote the attainment of gender equality in South Africa.

The CGE is tasked to, amongst others, advance, promote and protect gender equality in South Africa through undertaking research, public education, policy development, legislative initiatives, effective monitoring and litigation.

We commend Parliament for carrying out its duty diligently and transparently. Parliament will, in line with the law, forward these names to the President for appointment.

Nonceba Mhlauli
Media Liaison Officer
072 623 3462