ANC welcomes 24 shortlisted candidates to fill vacancies on SABC Board

28 February 2019

The ANC Study Group on Communications welcomes the shortlisting of 24 candidates to fill vacancies on the board of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC). Due to changes to the programme and time constraints, the committee decided to no longer continue with the exit interviews with those who resigned from the current board.

The SABC Board currently has eight vacancies after the latest resignations of Deputy Chairperson Ms Khanyisile Kweyama, Mr Mathatha Tsedu, Mr Krish Naidoo and Mr John Mattison.

The shortlisted candidates are:

1. Mr Gift Buthelezi
2. Adv Motshedi Benjamin Lekalakala
3. Mr Nkosana Mbokana
4. Adv Mathews Mofokeng
5. Ms Mamoduphi Mohlala-Mulaudzi
6. Ms Bernedette Muthien
7. Ms Jasmina Patel
8. Adv Nakedi Ribane
9. Mr Siphile Buthelezi
10. Prof Cooper Sathsivan
11. Ms Nokuzola Ehrens
12. Mr David Maimela
13. Mr Mpiyakhe Mkholo
14. Adv Lufuno Nevondwe
15. Ms Mary Papayya
16. Mr Livhuwani Matsila
17. Mr J.S Danana
18. Dr Marcia Socikwa
19. Ms Lulama Mokhobo
20. Mr Rowan Nicholls (CA)
21. Ms Mmabatho Ramagoshi
22. Mr Malema Ramoshaba
23. Mr Tsiesi Itani
24. Mr Mfanolezwe Shozi

We urge the public to participate in this process by commenting on the shortlisted candidates to ensure that the outcomes of this process is transparent and in line with our participatory democracy. Interviews will take place from Tuesday, 5 March – 7 March 2019, in Parliament.

Issued by the Whip of the ANC Study Group on Communications Comrade Mziwamadoda Kalako


Nonceba Mhlauli