Seiso Joel Mohai
Seiso Joel Mohai
Deputy Minister of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation
About Me
Chief Whip: NCOP, Chairperson of Caucus


  • Economic Transformation Cluster

  • Ad Hoc Committee on the Funding of Political Parties

  • Ad Hoc Committee to Inquire into the intervention in the North West Provincial Government

  • Select Committee on Appropriations (NCOP)

  • Select Committee on Finance (NCOP)

  • Sub-Committee on review of Council Rules

NEC Member: No

Home Province: Free State
PCO Province: Free State
Municipality: Kopanong
Region: Xhariep
Mobile: 071 300 8536 PA: Nolene Blows 079 514 8348

Constituency Office

Parliamentary Career

Member of Parliament, Free State delegate to the National Council of Provinces – 2014 to date and served in the following positions: Chief Whip of the National Council of Provinces (2017 to date). Members of the Inter-Parliamentary Union Assembly (2017 to date). Chairperson of the Select Committee on Appropriation in the National Council of Provinces (2014 to 2017). Member of Select Committee on Finance (2014 to 2017). Co – Chairperson of Joint Standing Committee on Financial Management of Parliament (2014 to 2017). ANC Chief Whip in the Free State Provincial Legislature (2004 – 2009). Also Chaired various ad hoc and administrative committees of the Free State Provincial Government, Including the Governance, Administration, Security and International Affairs Cluster; Sub Committee on the Drafting of the Free State Growth and Development Strategy; Subcommittee on Mining Interventions; and Subcommittee on African Peer Review Mechanism. Free State Member of Executive Council – Finance (2009 – 2014). Free State Member of Executive Council – Public Works, Roads and Transport – 2004 – 2009. Served Parliament (National Assembly) – 1999 – 2001. Worked as an official in the Free State Department of Public Works and Local Government Respectively (1995 – 1999)

Political Career:

Current Chairperson of the ANC Caucus in the National Parliament. Member of the ANC Caucus Management Committee (Political Strategy Committee) . Member of the ANC Caucus Political Committee. Member of the ANC Office Bearers in Parliament.

In 2000 he was appointed by the National Executive Committee of the ANC to serve in the Provincial Interim Leadership Core (ILC) of the ANC following the dissolution of the PEC, part of this included him being the convenor of Motheo Region. Has been an ex-officio member of the ANC PEC since 2002 by virtue of being ANC Chief Whip in the Provincial Legislature AND MEC from 2004 until 2014. He has strong roots in the youth movement dating back to his years in COSAS and SAYCO from the 80s. He was elected the regional chairperson of the ANCYL in the Southern Free State from 1991 until 1994. He was elected into the provincial executive of the ANCYL in 1994 And served as political education officer until 1996. In 1996, he was elected Provincial Chairperson of the ANCYL until 1998. In 1998, he was elected into the ANCYL NEC and served in the NWC as the National Secretary for Governance and Legislative Affairs until 2001.

Matriculated at Kgauho Secondary School, Botshabelo. He holds an MSC Degree in Technology and Management from Davincy Institute of Technology, which he obtained in 2014. The mini dissertation submitted for this course is Transportation and Economic Growth in the Emerging Economies: A regional Perspective. He also holds a Post Graduate Diploma in Management of Technology and innovation from Da Vincy Institute of Technology.